Pointless Posts, Raves n Rants, Obscure Opinions

Moderator: Moderators

koriani
Student

Philosophical Debate on the Bible and Divinity

Post #1

Post by koriani »

IN MY FATHER'S HOUSE THERE ARE MANY MANSIONS

What do these words mean to you? What if the commonly accepted explanation, that this verse refers to the different degrees of glory of the Blessed in heaven, isn't correct?

Of course, the whole Bible is open to a wide range of differing opinions and interpretations. I am by no means an expert of course, but how much of an expert can one be thousands of years after the fact and having to rely on hearsay? We can expostulate many theories but we will NEVER know the truth.

Even those of the Christian faiths differ widely in their interpretations as evidenced by the many factions such as Catholic, Baptist, Protestant, etc. How can one little book cause such division?

Instead of seeing the Bible as holding one Truth only, maybe we should open our minds to see the many Truths (and falsities) which are represented therein. One cannot, in good conscious, hold the Bible as infallible.

First of all, it's not even complete. Over the centuries, stories which were oral in their initial tradition, were written down, "improved upon" or translated incorrectly, or left out completely depending upon the whim and expertise of the person copying/translating. Even back then, the translation of certain words varied depending on one's school of thought.

Secondly, a lot of the verbiage used in the Bible now has different meaning. Archaic words, whose definition has changed over the years, meant something completely different back then. For example: the word virgin, which in our time means someone who has never had sex, used to mean one who was not married regardless of their sexual activity.